2015 Chanche Medal honorees announced

Twenty-two people will receive Bishop John Joseph Chanche medals for service on Saturday, Feb. 21, in the Cathedral of St. Peter the Apostle. The Chanche Medal was established as part of the celebration of the 175th anniversary of the Diocese of Jackson as a way to recognize those whose service, often quiet, unrecognized acts of love, has helped build up the church in Mississippi.
This year the organizing committee added a youth component to the award to recognize young people who are already putting their faith into action. These young men and women are the future of the church. Pastors and Lay Ecclesial Ministers submit applications to a committee made up of representatives from every deanery for consideration.
Mississippi Catholic will have full coverage of the awards ceremony as well as profiles of the recipients in the first issue in March.

Deanery I
Anita Zorn Hossley — Vicksburg St. Michael
Patricia and Thomas Gerrets — Madison St. Francis
Diane Pumphrey — Jackson Cathedral of St. Peter the Apostle
Margaret and Joe Jones — Gluckstadt St. Joseph
Carolyn and Bill O’Connor — Clinton Holy Savior
Ronni Nicole Wolfe — Vicksburg St. Michael
Madeline Saways — Gluckstadt St. Joseph

Deanery II
Louis Sallalio — Natchez Assumption of the Blessed Mother
Walter Maier — Natchez St. Mary
Charlene and Mike Brown — McComb St. Alphonsus
June and Bill Vallely — Gloster Holy Family
Natalie Fletcher — Woodville St. Joseph

Deanery III
Marvin Edwards — Winona Sacred Heart
Cooper Dunn — Greenwood Immaculate Heart of Mary

Deanery IV
Delores Lowe — Clarksdale St. Elizabeth

Deanery V
Karen Hightower — Amory St. Helen
Will Garnett — Tupelo St. James.